Question 5

Which expression of garden art / garden style that we have studied this semester resonated most strongly with you personally? Explain why.

The garden art style that resonated with me most would be the baroque. For me, It is very easy to spot a baroque garden because of its obvious man over nature style. I love looking at the different tree ornamentation and how they are grown to resemble archways. The lawns are also beautiful with the embroidery designed into the landscape. The evergreen bushes and topiary are also fun to look at, especially when they are in the shape of animals or something. I thought our field study to Frederiksburg castle was so fun and a wonderful way to see this style of garden in person. I wouldn’t say the baroque style is my favorite, but it is the most common that I can pick out and identify.

Leave a Reply

